The tiny Pacific island country of Nauru has repealed its law against same-sex intimacy, reducing the total number of countries with anti-homosexuality laws to 77 worldwide, by this blog’s count.

Location of Nauru northeast of Australia. (Map courtesy of

Location of Nauru northeast of Australia. (Map courtesy of

By another count, the total is now 73 countries, according to an adjusted version of a list from ILGA, the International Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Trans and Intersex Association.

Before the law was repealed, Nauru provided for up to 14 years in prison for sexual intercourse between men, but the law was not enforced. Sexual intimacy between women was not covered by that law.

For details about the total number of countries with anti-gay laws, see this blog’s article“77 countries where homosexuality is illegal.”

Nauru decriminalises homosexuality

Nauru has updated its Crimes Act, decriminalising homosexuality and abolishing suicide as an offence.

The government says parliament passed the Act two weeks ago to replace the Criminal Code of 1899 and to comply with international treaties and obligations.

The death penalty has been abolished.

The new law increases penalties for sexual offences and makes rape within marriage a crime.

It provides for new crimes such as stalking, voyeurism and posting pornography.

The Act prohibits slavery and torture to stop a child from being coerced to marry another person in exchange for a material benefit.

Parliament passed other acts, allowing for the establishment of an Office of the Public Legal Defender.
In Cooperation with Erasing 76 crimes